Snapchat’s popularity stems from its dedication to user privacy. Videos and images uploaded to the platform usually disappear within 24 hours. The messaging feature has made the app more user-friendly, but the inability to unsend pictures and videos is a huge drawback. You can prevent other types of content from reaching other Snapchat users, which is good news.
Discover whether you can unsend a snap and how to delete snaps you’d rather keep private.
Table of Contents
Can You Unsend a Snap?
Snapchat users cannot unsend video or picture snaps. Users can, however, retract other kinds of content on the platform. Although you can’t “unsend” messages, you can delete them. It’s more convenient to unsubscribe, especially if you accidentally sent something to the wrong person.
Each member of the chat will be notified that a sent file has been removed when the snap is deleted. While they won’t be able to see the contents of the message, they’ll still be notified that something has been removed.
Snapchat conversations can be deleted by removing the following files:
- Messages sent via text
- Printed stickers
- Downloadable audio files
- Files sent through the Memory Tab include images and videos
If you forward pictures and videos to your Snapchat contacts, it’s impossible to reverse the action. The Snapchat app lets users delete images and videos they’ve posted as Snapchat Stories. If you send pictures and videos to friends via the Memory tab, you can delete them. Your mobile device has stored or uploaded these files.
Older Snapchat users have shared their experiences with unsending images and videos. These tips might help you delete image and video snaps after you’ve sent them if you haven’t updated Snapchat:
- Airplane mode should be enabled on your device.
- You should remove the recipient from your Snapchat friends list.
- Your account has been logged out.
- You can block the recipient of a snap.
- Remove the app from your device.
- Delete or deactivate your Snapchat account.
You’ll only be able to use these suggestions if you’re using an older Snapchat version. Since sent snaps are uploaded to the cloud quickly, testing them on newer versions won’t be effective. Therefore, any attempt to remove the snap will be ineffective. Upon opening, Snapchat will delete it from its servers, and it will not disappear until the recipient opens it.
Images and videos cannot be retracted, but messages can be deleted. You can use this feature when you want to correct a typo or modify the message’s content. It also allows you to block the content from reaching the wrong person since social media apps are prone to sending mistakes.
The process of deleting a snap before it is read by the recipient is relatively simple. You can do this by having a group conversation or chatting with another person. Both Apple and Android devices are capable of doing this.
How to Unsend a Snap on an iPhone
If you’re snapping on your iPhone, you can retract your snap to prevent it from reaching the wrong people. It doesn’t matter if you’re chatting with one person or a group of several people, you can delete the snap on your iPhone.
A snap sent to a single recipient can be deleted by following these steps:
- Navigate to the chat where you sent the message in your Snapchat messaging section.
- Scroll until you find the conversation where you sent the message.
- With your finger, tap and hold the message.
- The “Delete” option will appear.
- You will be prompted to confirm your decision by the app. To complete the deletion, click “Delete” again.
Look at the bottom of the snap to see if the other person has opened it before performing this action. It won’t make much sense to delete it after the other person has seen it.
Delete a snap from a group conversation by following these steps:
- Choose the chat where you sent the snap from your Snapchat conversations.
- Scroll through the conversation until you find the message you wish to delete and tap it to expand it.
- Using your finger, press and hold the snap.
- The “Delete” option should be chosen.
- To confirm this action, tap the purple-colored “Delete” pop-up box.
Check if Snapchat has marked the snap as open before deleting it. The other chat members will know what you removed from the conversation if they have already viewed it. Be prepared to answer questions unless you deleted the snap before they managed to open it. Each member of the chat will notice that a snap has been wiped and will probably want to know what it was.
How to Unsend a Snap on an Android
In Snapchat’s Android app, users can remove snaps from group chats and conversations.
To delete a snap from a chat with another user, follow these steps:
- Select the conversation where the snap was sent in your Snapchat messaging section.
- You can delete a snap by searching through the messages.
- Put your finger on the message and hold it down.
- Click the “Delete” button.
- When the platform prompts you to confirm the deletion, tap “Delete” again.
If the chat indicates that the recipient has seen the message, deleting it might cause confusion. Check the snap’s status before following these steps.
Follow these steps to remove a snap from a group chat:
- Find the thread where you sent the snap in your Snapchat conversations.
- You can delete a snap by clicking on the chat and searching for it.
- Hold your finger over the message for a few seconds until you see a list of options.
- From the pop-up menu, select “Delete”.
- If you wish to ensure that the snap is removed from the chat, press “Delete” again.
Before you remove the message, the group won’t know its contents if they haven’t seen it. If they ask you about what you deleted, you should be prepared to answer a few questions.
How to Unsend a Snap on an iPad
Snapchat wasn’t designed for iPads, but users have bypassed this issue by modifying their Apple App Store filters and installing the iPhone version. You can also delete snaps from your chats if you’re using Snapchat on an iPad. This can be done in one-on-one conversations or in group conversations.
You can delete a snap you sent to another user by following these steps:
- Go to the chat where you sent the snap in Snapchat’s messaging section.
- Scroll through the conversation until you find the snap you want to remove.
- Hold down the snap with your finger for several seconds.
- Select the “Delete” option from the pop-up list.
- It will appear again with a purple “Delete” button. Confirm the action by tapping it.
Before retracting the snap, make sure the user hasn’t opened it.
A snap sent to a group chat can be deleted by following these steps:
- Locate the conversation where you sent the snap in your Snapchat messages.
- You can unsend a snap by choosing the chat and going through it.
- You will see the options menu when you press and hold the snap.
- Tap “Delete” when the pop-up menu appears.
- To remove the snap from the conversation, click the purple “Delete” button.
While deleting a snap will hide its contents, other chat members will be able to see what you removed. Before removing the snap, come up with a plausible explanation in case they ask you about it.
Delete Your Snaps Before They’re Opened
In the social media world, Snapchat is a game-changer since snaps disappear quickly, increasing privacy protection. It’s disappointing, however, that the app hasn’t developed a feature that would allow users to unsend content. In the meantime, you can use the methods in this guide to delete snaps from your Snapchat conversations until Snapchat rolls out a solution.
Did you ever delete a snap from a conversation? Could you tell me the device you used to do this? Comment below and let us know what you think.